Reggie Wayne, Torry Holt, DeMarcus Ware amongst finalists for Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame’s 2022 induction class


The Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame revealed their modern-era finalists for the 2022 class on Thursday. Among the many listing of 15 NFL legends being thought-about for enshrinement in Canton, Ohio, are three gamers who made the listing of their first yr of eligibility, two gamers beforehand eligible, however finalists for the primary time after which 10 gamers who a minimum of one different time have reached this stage within the choice course of.

Per, the modern-era participant finalists are decided by a vote of the Corridor’s Choice Committee, a course of that started with 122 nominees. That group was trimmed in November to 26. These 15 finalists have yet one more spherical to go, as the choice committee votes on subsequent yr’s induction class the week of Tremendous Bowl LVI.

Late Raiders broad receiver Cliff Department was already chosen as a seniors finalist whereas Dick Vermeil was chosen because the coach finalist and former referee Artwork McNally is the contributors finalist.

Listed below are the 15 gamers who’ve been chosen as Corridor of Fame finalists: 

WR Andre Johnson (Texans, Colts, Titans) 2003-16: The previous Texans star is eligible for the primary time in 2022. A seven-time Professional Bowler and two-time All-Professional, Johnson led the NFL in receiving in 2008 and in 2009. One of the crucial bodily dominant receivers ever, Johnson retired with 1,062 catches with 14,185 yards and 70 touchdowns. 

OLB DeMarcus Ware (Cowboys, Broncos) 2005-16: A menacing pass-rusher, Ware twice led the NFL in sacks throughout his 9 seasons with the Cowboys. After 117 sacks in Dallas, Ware took his skills to Denver, the place he and Von Miller posed the NFL’s most formidable move dashing duo. The duo helped lead the Broncos to a victory over the Panthers in Tremendous Bowl 50. Ware retired with 138.5 sacks and eight double-digit sack seasons. He shall be eligible for the Corridor of Fame for the primary time in 2022. 

WR Reggie Wayne (Colts) 2001-14: The Batman to Marvin Harrison’s Superman, Wayne was half one of many NFL’s most explosive offenses throughout the 2000s. Wayne — who spent his total 15-year profession with the Colts — acquired a key landing within the Colts’ victory over the Bears in Tremendous Bowl XLI. He later served as Manning’s No. 1 possibility throughout the group’s 2009 Tremendous Bowl run. Wayne retired with 1,070 receptions for 14,345 yards and 82 touchdowns. 

WR Torry Holt (Rams, Jaguars) 1998-09: A useful member of the “Biggest Present on Turf,” Holt led the NFL in receiving twice. He was a Professional Bowler seven instances over an eight-year span. In 173 profession video games, he caught 920 passes for 13,382 yards and 74 touchdowns.

DE/DT Richard Seymour (Patriots, Raiders) 2001-12: The sixth total decide within the 2001 draft, Seymour helped the Patriots seize their first of six Tremendous Bowls throughout his rookie season. Seven years later, Seymour left New England as a three-time champion, five-time Professional Bowler and three-time All-Professional. Seymour added two extra Professional Bowl alternatives to his resume throughout his 4 years with the Raiders. 

The opposite 10 finalists

DE Jared Allen (Chiefs, Vikings, Bears, Panthers): 2004-15

OT Willie Anderson (Bengals, Ravens): 1996-08 

DB Ronde Barber (Buccaneers): 1997-12

OT Tony Boselli (Jaguars): 1995-01

S LeRoy Butler (Packers): 1990-01

WR/PR/KR Devin Hester (Bears, Falcons, Ravens): 2006-16

LB Sam Mills (Saints, Panthers): 1986-97

LB Zach Thomas (Dolphins, Cowboys): 1996-08

LB Patrick Willis (49ers): 2007-14

DT Bryant Younger (49ers): 1994-07



Leave a Reply