‘Mr. Irrelevant’ to Tremendous Bowl champ: How Bucs’ Ryan Succop made last-place historical past by ending first


Ryan Succop wasn’t on the Tampa Bay Buccaneers‘ roster in coaching camp, his soccer future in limbo. The veteran kicker earned a chance to remain within the NFL when the Buccaneers signed him per week earlier than the beginning of the common season, changing 2019 fifth-round choose Matt Homosexual. All Succop did was preserve the job all season and win the Tremendous Bowl, changing into the primary “Mr. Irrelevant” in NFL historical past to hoist the Vince Lombardi Trophy. 

“Mr. Irrelevant” is the title given to the final participant taken within the NFL Draft, and it has been used since 1976 (the present seven-round format of the NFL Draft was instituted in 1994). Succop is the one “Mr. Irrelevant” to win a Tremendous Bowl after taking part in within the massive sport. Succop and former New England Patriots linebacker Marty Moore are the one two “Mr. Irrelevant” picks to play in a Tremendous Bowl (Moore performed in Tremendous Bowl XXXI in 1996, a 35-21 loss to the Inexperienced Bay Packers, and acquired a hoop with the Patriots in 2001 however did not play in that Tremendous Bowl as a result of he was on injured reserve). 

Succop owns the title of the very best “Mr. Irrelevant” in historical past. Chosen as the ultimate choose within the 2009 draft, Succop has kicked for 12 seasons within the NFL with three groups (Kansas Metropolis Chiefs, Tennessee Titans, and Buccaneers). Succop has transformed 83% of his area aim makes an attempt in his profession and 96.3% of his further level makes an attempt. He is made 93.1% of his further level makes an attempt (203 of 218) for the reason that league moved the additional level try again in 2015.

Succop transformed 28 of 31 area aim makes an attempt this season (90.3%) and 52 of 57 further level makes an attempt (91.2%) final season with the Buccaneers. Within the postseason, Succop was an ideal 9 for 9 on area aim makes an attempt and 12 of 13 on further level makes an attempt (92.3%). In Tremendous Bowl LV, Succop went 4 for 4 on further level makes an attempt and transformed his solely area aim try — a 52-yard area aim that put Tampa Bay up 31-9 over Kansas Metropolis within the third quarter (which was the ultimate rating).  Succop has by no means missed a area aim try in eight postseason video games.

This is a take a look at each “Mr. Irrelevant” for the reason that time period started in 1976:

2020: Tae Crowder, LB, New York Giants
2019: Caleb Wilson, TE, Arizona Cardinals
2018: Trey Quinn, WR, Washington Redskins
2017: Chad Kelly, QB, Denver Broncos
2016: Kalan Reed, CB, Tennessee Titans
2015: Gerald Christian, TE, Arizona Cardinals
2014: Lonnie Ballentine, S, Houston Texans
2013: Justice Cunningham, TE, Indianapolis Colts
2012: Chandler Harnish, QB, Indianapolis Colts
2011: Cheta Ozougwu, DE, Texans
2010: Tim Toone, WR, Detroit Lions
2009: Ryan Succop, Okay, Kansas Metropolis Chiefs
2008: David Vobora, OLB, St. Louis Rams
2007: Ramzee Robinson, CB, Lions
2006: Kevin McMahan, WR, Oakland Raiders
2005: Andy Stokes, TE, New England Patriots
2004: Andre Sommersell, LB, Oakland Raiders
2003: Ryan Hoag, WR, Oakland Raiders
2002: Ahmad Miller, DT, Houston Texans
2001: Tevita Ofahengaue, TE, Arizona Cardinals 
2000: Michael Inexperienced, DB, Chicago Bears 
1999: Jim Finn, RB, Chicago Bears
1998: Cam Quayle, TE, Baltimore Ravens
1997: Ronnie McAda, QB, Inexperienced Bay Packers
1996: Sam Manuel, LB, San Francisco 49ers
1995: Michael Reed, DB, Carolina Panthers
1994: Marty Moore, LB, New England Patriots
1993: Daron Alcorn, Okay, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1992: Matt Elliott, C, Washington Redskins
1991: Larry Wanke, QB, New York Giants
1990: Demetrius Davis, TE, Oakland Raiders
1989: Everett Ross, WR, Minnesota Vikings
1988: Jeff Beathard, WR, Los Angeles Rams
1987: Norman Jefferson, DB, Inexperienced Bay Packers
1986: Mike Travis, DB, Los Angeles Chargers
1985: Donald Chumley, DT, San Francisco 49ers
1984: Randy Essington, QB, Oakland Raiders
1983: John Tuggle, RB, New York Giants
1982: Tim Washington, DB, San Francisco 49ers
1981: Phil Nelson, TE, Oakland Raiders
1980: Tyrone McGriff, G, Pittsburgh Steelers
1979: Mike Almond, WR, Pittsburgh Steelers 
1978: Lee Washburn, G, Dallas Cowboys
1977: Jim Kelleher, RB, Minnesota Vikings
1976: Kelvin Kirk, WR, Pittsburgh Steelers



Leave a Reply