Chad Johnson, Cris Collinsworth, Jim Breech among the many nominees for Bengals inaugural Ring of Honor class

Getty Photos

Anthony Munoz and Paul Brown are the headliners of the Bengals‘ inaugural Ring of Honor class. Munoz, one of many best left tackles in NFL historical past, and Brown, the franchise’s founder and authentic coach, have been named to the franchise’s inaugural Ring of Honor class on April 8. On the time of that announcement, the Bengals revealed that two extra franchise legends would be part of Munoz and Brown on this yr’s induction class. 

The group not too long ago revealed the 17 nominees for this yr’s class. Season-ticket holders will vote to find out which gamers will make the ultimate lower. 

This is a take a look at every of the nominees. 

  • QB Ken Anderson (1971-86): A four-time Professional Bowler, Anderson received league MVP honors in 1981 whereas main the Bengals to the franchise’s first Tremendous Bowl. Anderson paced the NFL in passing twice and in completion share on two different events. 
  • RT Willie Anderson (1996-07): A starter throughout every of his dozen seasons in Cincinnati, Anderson made 4 consecutive Professional Bowls from 2003-06. A mannequin of consistency, Anderson missed simply two begins from 1997-2006. 
  • Ok Jim Breech (1980-92): Not solely is Breech nonetheless the franchise’s all-time main scorer with 1,151 factors, however he additionally holds the NFL document for many additional time discipline purpose makes an attempt with out a miss. Breech completed his profession with a discipline purpose share of 81.8% within the postseason, which is greater than Adam Vinatieri, Justin Tucker and Corridor of Famer Morten Andersen. A member of the Bengals’ two AFC championship groups, Breech was the main scorer in Tremendous Bowl XXIII. 
  • RB James Brooks (1984-91): The versatile Brooks earned 4 Professional Bowl picks with the Bengals from 1986-90. Brooks leads all Bengals working backs in complete yards from scrimmage (9,459) and complete touchdowns (64). 
  • WR Cris Collinsworth (1981-88): A 3-time Professional Bowler, Collinsworth helped the Bengals seize their first Tremendous Bowl berth throughout his rookie season. He led the Bengals in receiving yards in Tremendous Bowls XVI and XXIII. 
  • WR Isaac Curtis (1973-84): A Professional Bowler throughout every of his first 4 seasons, Curtis’ profession 17.1 yards-per-reception common stays the franchise document. Anderson’s favourite goal all through the Seventies, Curtis helped Cincinnati attain its first Tremendous Bowl in 1981. 
  • RB Corey Dillon (1997-03): Dillon rewrote the Bengals’ document ebook throughout his time within the Queen Metropolis. The three-time Professional Bowler is the Bengals’ profession speeding chief with 8,061 yards. His 28 100-yard video games in Cincinnati are additionally a franchise document. 
  • QB Boomer Esiason (1984-92; 1997): The 1988 NFL MVP, Esiason led the Bengals to their second Tremendous Bowl that season. He has extra passing yards than every other left-handed quarterback in NFL historical past. His 490 passing yards towards the Rams in 1990 stay the Bengals’ single-game document. 
  • S David Fulcher (1986-92): The hard-hitting security was named to 3 consecutive Professional Bowls (and was named an All-Professional as soon as) from 1988-90. Fulcher had a number of large performs in Tremendous Bowl XXIII that included a pressured fumble and a sack of Joe Montana. 
  • WR Chad Johnson (2001-10): The proficient and flamboyant Johnson earned 5 consecutive Professional Bowl picks (and two All-Professional nods) from 2003-07. The franchise’s profession receiving chief, Johnson led the NFL in receiving throughout the 2006 season. His play helped the Bengals seize division titles in 2005 and 2009. 
  • NT Tim Krumrie (1983-94): Cincinnati’s Iron Man, Krumrie by no means missed a recreation throughout his 12 years with the Bengals. He earned two Professional Bowl picks whereas main the Bengals in tackles on 5 completely different events. 
  • G Max Montoya (1979-89): Probably the greatest pass-protection linemen of his period, Montoya had a stretch the place he allowed only one hit in 237 move makes an attempt throughout the 1988 season. A 3-time Professional Bowler, Montoya was an integral member of each of the Bengals’ Tremendous Bowl groups. 
  • G Dave Lapham (1974-83): Lauded for his capability to play all 5 positions on the offensive line, Lapham was a key member of the Bengals’ 1981 AFC championship group. His safety helped Anderson throw for 300 yards and two touchdowns in Tremendous Bowl XVI. 
  • CB Lamar Parrish (1970-77): One in every of prime returners of his period, Parrish’s 4 punt returns for touchdowns and his 18.78-yard punt-return common in 1974 stay franchise data. A six-time Professional Bowler, Parrish picked off 25 passes in Cincinnati whereas serving to the Bengals win their first two division titles. 
  • CB Ken Riley (1969-83): Riley’s 65 profession interceptions are tied with Charles Woodson for fifth-most in NFL historical past. Riley’s group data embrace most video games performed (207), interception return yards (596) and interception returns for touchdowns (5). His 5 interceptions in 1981 helped the Bengals seize the AFC title. 
  • TE Bob Trumpy (1968-77): A member of the Bengals’ inaugural group, Trumpy was named to 4 Professional Bowls and was an All-Professional throughout the 1969 season. Regarded a formidable blocker and receiver, Trumpy’s 22.57-yards-per-catch common throughout the 1969 season stays a group single-season document. 
  • LB Reggie Williams (1976-89): A profession Bengal, Williams is second to Riley in most video games performed in Cincinnati (206). No. 4 on the franchise’s profession sack record, Williams led the Bengals in tackles on three separate events. He was tabbed because the Walter Payton Man of the Yr in 1986 and the Sports activities Illustrated Co-Sportsman of the Yr in 1987. 

The Bengals’ Ring of Honor was created to “rejoice former gamers, coaches and membership officers who made excellent contributions to the Cincinnati Bengals soccer group.” The Bengals additionally need to honor gamers whose careers have but to be acknowledged within the Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame. Munoz is the one former Bengals participant at the moment enshrined in Canton, Ohio. 

“The Corridor of Fame has chosen to disregard our gamers to a excessive diploma and it is a solution to honor them,” Bengals proprietor Mike Brown stated. “I feel a whole lot of our gamers have been missed by the Corridor of Fame that deserve consideration. We are able to do one thing about that by honoring them right here.”  


Leave a Reply